ORDINANCE 2017-38

ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING THE OPIOID AWARENESS COMMISSION

An Ordinance to establish the Opioid Awareness Commission.

WHEREAS, Monroe County Government, with its partners, has recently planned and hosted an Opioid Awareness Summit; and,

WHEREAS, opioids kill more people than car accidents and guns combined; and

WHEREAS, the number of infants born with opioid dependence has more than quadrupled in the past decade; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Commissioners of Monroe County, Indiana, find it in the best interest of the County to establish this Commission.

Be it ordained as follows:

There is hereby established the Monroe County Opioid Advisory Commission ("Commission") pursuant to Monroe County's Home Rule Authority (IC 36-1-3).

Membership and Terms

The Commission shall have up to Thirteen (13) members, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners ("Commissioners"), and be appointed as follows:

(A) The Commissioners shall appoint one member from each of the following groups:

County Commissioners

County Council

City of Bloomington -

Monroe County Health Department

- (B) The Commissioners shall appoint seven (9) citizen members.
- (C) The Commission shall be governed by Chapter 216 of the Monroe County Code, Uniform Provisions for Boards and Commissions.

Duties

(A) The Commission shall serve in an advisory role to assist the Government of Monroe County in plan and organize educational Community Conversations throughout the year, including the yearly Opioid Awareness Summit, regarding Opioids, collaborate with stakeholders, gather community information relating to Opioid issues and concerns, and report its activities to the Board of Commissioners on at least an annual basis.

(B) The Commission may seek approval from the Monroe County Board of Commissioners to undertake other duties and may proceed to perform such duties when specifically directed to do so by the Board of Commissioners.

Adopted this 18th day of October, 2017.

MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

"YEAS"	"NAYS"
Julie Thomas, President	Julie Thomas, President
Amanda Barge. Vice President	Amanda Barge, Vice President
18/2	
Patrick Stoffers, Commissioner	Patrick Stoffers, Commissioner
	*
ATTEST:	
Couhering Smil	
Catherine Smith, Monroe County Auditor	