#### Monroe County Vote Center Committee Meeting - Draft

July 10, 2024 5:00 P.M.

#### Conference Room 100B, Showers Building North, and via Teams

## Call to Order

Chair Ilana Stonebraker called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m. Also present in person were committee members William Ellis, Ami Gandhi, Debora Shaw, Stephen Volan, and Alex Workman. Deputy Clerk Tammy White was also present.

Stacy Kowalczyk participated via Teams.

Committee members absent: Taylor Bryant, Danny Shields, Daniella Wheelock

## **Approval of Minutes**

Steve Volan moved approval of the draft minutes of the June 12, 2024 meeting. Alex Workman seconded. The minutes were approved unanimously in a roll-call vote.

## **Old Business**

Project plan and proposed outline for report: The committee agreed to move ahead with the project plan Stacy Kowalczyk prepared. The plan and the proposed report outline would have us present options to the Election Board. Possible options, based on current understanding, are:

- 1) do not change to vote centers
- 2) every current poll site becomes a vote center (with the expectation that the number can be reduced as the county sees where most people vote)
- 3) about 23 vote centers (comparable to voters/center in other counties)
- 4) fewer than 23 vote centers.

Community meetings: Our next meeting, in Ellettsville, will be an opportunity to ask people's opinions. Ami Gandhi will prepare a short description of vote centers, which committee members can review online. The description will be available to the public at the meeting, along with a question about difficulties with precinct-based voting (asked of the IU students who met with the committee on April 10) and a version of, "If we had vote centers, would you prefer to vote close to: home / work / shopping / other / don't know / <wouldn't vote>".

### **New Business**

Our next meeting will be at 6:00 at the Ellettsville Town Hall. We will use traditional and social media to encourage the public to attend.

### Motion to Adjourn

Steve Volan moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:07. Stacy Kowalczyk seconded the motion.

The motion passed unanimously

**Next County Vote Center Meeting** 

# July 24, 2024 at 6:00 P.M.

# **Ellettsville Town Hall**

1150 W Guy McCown Dr. Ellettsville, IN 47429 and via Teams